The Solomon Islands Parliament consists of 50 members, directly elected from single-member constituencies on the basis of the first-past-the-post system. The Parliamentary term is four years.

The Constitution requires that a review of constituency boundaries be conducted by the Constituency Boundaries Commission at least every 10 years. The most recent redrawing of constituency boundaries occurred in 1997 (increasing the number of constituencies from 47 to 50). In 2009 the Parliament rejected a recommendation from the Commission to increase the number of constituencies to 67.

Learn more about